Soulja Slim – Years Later… A Few Months After

Soulja Slim - Years Later... A Few Months AfterYou have to get used to Soulja Slim’s style. This is his 4th album, and even by the time it was released people weren’t used to his style. Some say it’s too rushed, too complicated, etc. It took me a while for his music to grow on me, and for me to appreciate the rawness that comes with his music. And if you do listen to Soulja Slim already, you know what I’m talking about. Slim was never going to break any huge barriers in rap, or reach a level that 2Pac; or say Nas were on. He was strictly New Orleans. One of the realest and most respected south artists ever, and anybody from the south region will tell you the same. This is his last cd before being shot in front of his mother’s house in 2003. On to the review:


1.) Intro: 

This intro/song gets you set for the album. Over a Dani Kartell produced track, Slim spits tales that everyone’s heard before, but in a way only he can describe it. Overall, perfect way to open the album.

2.) Hustler: 

Another tight song, not too much different from the last one, this time talking about how Slim’s a hustler and how he’ll never fall off when it comes to the game.

3.) Cheeze Eataz:

Def. one of my favorite joints on the album, the beat has to grow on you. At first, it sounds like something nobody could ever write a verse to or over. The song is basically about snitches and them snitchin on anybody to the FEDz, police, etc. Slim spits three hard verses, talkin bout how he’d never snitch, and how he plans to set a rat trap for all the rats. Overall, a bomb ass track and is great to play in yo system.

4.) Yeahh: 

Yet another Daniel produced beat (he’s all over the album, which is good)Slim continues his theme of the previous 3 songs detailing his history with enemies, *****es, and money hungry snitches. He takes subliminal shots at various people; including Master P and the No Limit camp.

5.) Heata On Me feat. B.G., Lil Real One: 

Most people’s favorite song on the entire album, shows the chemistry between former No Limit Soldier – Soulja Slim and former Cash Money Millionaire – B.G.. The two planned to release a duo album together after this was released, and it’s not hard to see why. The flows, the guitar laced beat, everything works together to make a near perfect track. Recommended…and has good repeat value.

6.) Speak Yo Mind:

About a 7-8 second skit leading up to the next song. Not really worth listening to; skip it.

7.) I’ll Pay For It: 

Also released on Slim’s 3rd album ‘Years Later’, this song had New Orleans buzzin for a while. Slim flows perfect over the beat, and the song is about payin for a ***** if ya really want it and need it that bad. Overall, tight song.

8.) U Hear Dat: 

My favorite song on the album, easily, is a KLC (formerly of Beats By The Pound) produced joint, that Slim flows smooth over. The bass is a 12 gauge 1, and Slim is talking about everything from spittin 50 bars, to taking shots at Master P with lines like “I ain’t no friend of P (Master P) don’t ask me bout that boy, he aint no man you think Im lyin then ask Pastor Troy”. Great track.

9.) Souljas On My Feet:

Another KLC produced track and another song off his underground release ‘Years Later’ this song is just as good as the previous. The beat is perfect, the flows, everything is on point. Guns, Soulja Reeboks, and stompin they face in is the story on this joint.

10.) Magnolia: 

The beat took me a while to get used to, as did Slim’s flow on this track. It’s not a mess, but it definatley could’ve been better. This song was yet another off Magnolia Slim’s ‘Years Later’ cd. By now, anybody can tell that this is a revamped major record distributed version. The song is not really that great, but worth listening to only if you cant get enough of Slim.

11.) U Bootin Up feat. Juvenile: 

One of the best songs on the entire album, the song is a beef record directed at Silkk the Shocker, Krazy (504 Boyz), and No Limit. The only bad part is Juvenile’s verse (it has nothing to do with the original theme of the song), but Slim saves it at the end with lines at Silkk like “No I don’t know Karate (reference to the Hot Boys movie) lil Silkky draws, you located in Victoria’s Secret for the broads”.

12.) Lov Me Lov Me Not:

The only video shot for the album (Slim died less than two weeks after it was filmed) the song is decent. I don’t want to say it’s bad, because it’s not even close, but it did feel like it was missing something. However, the song will be remembered by some; if not many as Soulja Slim’s last song…although it appeared on the first advance of this album ‘Years Later’.

13.) Holla At Me: 

Another skit (this one being about a minute) leading up to the next song. Slim’s on the phone with his boy talkin bout gettin loaded and meetin up later.

14.) If It Ain’t Real feat. Lil Real One: 

The beat is sick, and Slim and Lil Real One rip it talkin bout that midnight potion. This song is definatley worth playing repeatedly because it has a good feel to it, and is laced with a smooth sick beat.

15.) ***** You Nigga feat. Lil Real One, Cutthroat Committy: 

This song is a posse cut with some of the Cutthroat Committy crew and it definatley doesn’t dissapoint. Lil Real One steals the whole damn song though, with his verse to open up the song. The beat, the flow, everything is on point. Overall, a solid track, but fails to really stand out.

16.) U Gon Feel Me:

This song is weak…for the most part. Aside from a few entertaining disses thrown towards No Limit Record’s Krazy…the beat is skippable and the track sounds rushed. Skip it.

17.) Hit the Highway: 

A very good song with a beat that you have to get used to ( ike a lot of other songs on this albu ), but it delivers. While some argue that this is an obvious filler track, the song to me is one of the better ones on the album. Three solid verses from Slim over a solid beat don’t dissapoint. Ever.

18.) Committy feat. Cutthroat Committy: 

The track on the album with the whole Cutthroat Committy crew on it doesn’t dissapoint to a certain extent. If you’re lookin for Slim on this track, the most your going to get is about 6 bars. His crew is all over it, as he describes them as “ammunition for yo ***** ass”. Most of them can flow, and makes you wonder why they didn’t drop an official release because they’re almost all good…with the exception of a few.

19.) Untitled Track (I’ll Pay For It – Part II) feat. Mystikal: 

Basically the same track as I’ll Pay For It, with the same beat with a cameo from Mystikal. It’s average and nothing more, I like the original better.


Overall, this cd is a down south classic. It’s sad in a way, that this was Slim’s last CD; but your also glad that he went out at the top of his game at least. From starting his career at No Limit, to going to jail, to finishing his career at No Limit, to going back to jail, to finally seeing the fame he deserves (even if it is after his death) on a track with Juvenile; Slim put out enough classic albums, his rawness and realness on the mic will always be remembered; and I recomended ALL of his other releases. R.I.P. Soulja Slim. 4/5

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.